December 5th 2020

Sustainable Travel & Tourism Agenda (STTA) is pleased to announce the 2020 Rising Stars award winners under the Young Change Makers empowerment program for University students. These are:

Dominic Wanjiru, Moi University
Doreen Nyamweya, University of Eldoret
Evone Ouko, Technical University of Mombasa
James Maina, Murang’a University of Technology
Kepha Olwal, Machakos University

(Scroll down to read their inspiring messages)

The winners were announced at an awards ceremony during the Young Change Makers end year event at CORAT Africa, on 5th December 2020.

The Rising Stars Awards promote excellence in sustainable tourism, by recognizing young people who have made extraordinary contributions to the Young Change Makers program, through its knowledge, motivation and creativity safe spaces. Award winners join the Rising Stars Alumni Circle, and are mentored to be champions and leaders in sustainable tourism.

The STTA Young Changemakers is an extension learning program that targets and actively engages university students in sustainable tourism development. The aim of this collaborative program that involves universities, the public sector, private sector and civil society is to mentor a generation of youth who have the capacity to provide leadership in the sustainability of tourism. The program creates safes spaces where youth can be engaged for knowledge, can be motivated and inspired to be involved and can apply their creativity in problem solving.

For more information about the Young Change Makers program, please visit STTA YCM | Sustainable Travel and Tourism Agenda | STTA (

Contact details

Sustainable Travel & Tourism Agenda- STTA

P.O. Box 44030- 00100
Nairobi, Kenya
Websites:  /

Twitter – @STTAKenya @GTSAfrica


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *